LEAVE US A REVIEW

Thank you for trusting SLM Residential Roofing for your recent home improvement project.
Please let us know how we did. Your comment will be shared with other homeowners.

Date of Project
Name
City
Would you recommend us?
Star Rating
Briefly Explain Your Experience
Thank you for your review.

READ OUR REVIEWS


8/1/2017
Angie's List Memeber
Old roof replaced and new roof installed

I chose SLM Residential Roofing for a new roof earlier this summer. The price was not the cheapest of the 3 bids I received, but the low bid was suspiciously low, and the owner of SLM, Barrett Blow's presentation at my house was definitely the most professional. I had seen a large number of high grades for SLM on Angie's List, so I was comfortable choosing them. The communications throughout the entire process was excellent. They had a crew of at one point 11 guys, and removed the old roof and installed the new roof in one day, minimizing the chance of a freak thunderstorm while the roof is exposed. I did have some flashing which I didn't think looked as nice as should be expected, and they corrected this promptly to my satisfaction. Where Barrett really went above and beyond concerned my classic car in the garage. There in no interior ceiling in the detached garage, and I needed to store my car somewhere during the day the crew would be working. At Barrett's suggestion, he cleaned out half the garage at his own house, so he could take his own car out of his own storage unit and park it at home. I stored my car in his own storage unit during the roofing work. He drove me home from/to the storage unit to make this happen. That is customer service!
7/20/2017
Angie's List Memeber
They replaced our roof.

Out of the quotes that I got from multiple companies, this is the only one that came to the house with samples and brochures to talk us through our options. They were very professional and got the job done right and in just one day! I would definitely hire them again!
7/19/2017
Robert Vaughan
Our 33 year old roof started leaking during a heavy rainstorm, coming through the sheetrock. We called SLM and Barrett Blow, the owner, promptly returned our call. When he heard how water was pouring in, he came over quickly. He showed us how to place a tarp on the roof to prevent further damage. Since we had a serious leak, he gave us priority service.

Barrett took his time showing us options and explaining the advantages and disadvantages of each. He did not try to sell us the most expensive roof or things we didn't need. He explained why he used a particular product such as a better grade of felt, and also explained that he used six nails per shingle instead of the regular four so the roof had substantially higher wind resistance. He insists on hand-hammering the nails for a better seal. Barrett show us other roofs done sloppily and they were sagging and drooping. He answered all of our questions thoroughly and patiently. When I had more questions, he again returned my call promptly and explained his answers in detail, making sure I was satisfied. He was patient and helpful as we chose the color of our new shingles.

He gave us a very detailed estimate which was more than fair. We were happy to sign the contract.

The rain continued and Barrett finally saw a possible window to get the roof done. Because the weather was iffy at best, he waited until the very morning for a go-no go decision. He decided he and his crew could get the roof done. Additionally, he would remove and replace the roof in sections so that if rain did come, most of the house would be covered.

He and his crew arrived promptly and the guys set to work. There was no goofing off or breaks. One man cleaned up as others removed and replaced shingles like a roofing machine. It began to rain around noon, so the team took a lunch break. Just as they finished it began to let up so they returned to work even though it was still drizzling. They were meticulously careful of my landscaping.

They finished up by late afternoon. Everything was spotlessly clean and they went over the lawn and driveway several times to make sure no nails were left. Barrett conducted his own inspection and ordered a slight adjustment to one vent. Everything was perfect.

The new roof successfully withstood a very heavy, windy storm the next week.

We were so pleased that we had him install gutter guards also. Again, the crew arrived promptly and worked solidly, finishing quickly. The quality of the work is excellent.

Don't bother checking with other roofers. SLM is the one you want to do your roof. Barrett treats each customer as he would want to be treated and he makes you a friend as well as a customer. He cares.
05/15/2017 Linda S.
Excellent. Mr. Blow and his team came out immediately and repaired the problem to our satisfaction.

Category: Roofing
Services Performed: Yes
The Woodlands, TX 77384
05/10/2017 Bruce H.
Barrett was extremely easy to work with. Communications were great and the installation was
completed quickly and expertly. He offered me several options and prices and explained the pros and
cons of each. A+ work.

Category: Roofing
Services Performed: Yes
Cost: $820
Spring, TX 77379
03/29/2017 Sue L.
Category: Roofing
Services Performed: Yes
The Woodlands, TX 77381
01/30/2017 Cathy S.
Excellent customer service and a great job. I had a leak and then several shingles blew off during
our wind storm on a Sunday. After finally getting an ok from my insurance company I called them Friday
and they weren't sure they could get to me because of several jobs already in progress. They would completely understand if I called others because if it rained I would have major problems. Richard came out late Friday afternoon and there was more damage than I realized. After talking with the owner Barrett Blow, they were able to come out Saturday morning. Very professional, very considerate, very courteous. I was given more than one option as to what could be done. It is wonderful to work with people like this and I definitely recommend them to anyone!!!! I could not be happier. Thank you SLM Residential Roofing and all involved!!

Category: Roofing
Services Performed: Yes
Cost: $1500
Houston, TX 77066
12/15/2016 Christopher K.
Fantastic. I have used Barrett at SLM a few times and he always delivers superior service as
promised. His quote is always the actual cost as well.

Category: Gutter Repair & Replacement
Services Performed: Yes
Cost: $792
Spring, TX 77386
12/13/2016 James C.
Very good Mr Blow was courteous and professional

Category: Roofing
Services Performed: Yes
Cost: $14300
Oak Ridge North, TX 77385
09/26/2016 Alfred C.
I called SLM number and left a voice mail within a few minutes Barrett (the owner) returned my call
and we discussed my situation. He explained that they did roof repairs on Thursday's and Friday's and
his assistant would contact me later that day to get contact information. She called later that day. Repairs were scheduled for Friday. Barrett and his 2 man crew arrived on the dot. The vent were inspected as well as the roof in general. Barrett explained his findings so that I could make an informed decision. I decided to have 8 roof plumbing vents replaced with some roof maintenance. I appreciated not having a complete roof replacement pushed on me. Barrett explained the ins and the outs and I felt comfortable with my decision. I can say that I have always had the best luck when dealing with a hands on business owner because it's apparent that customer relationships based on credibility are important . Roof was repaired, crew was professional. I am very pleased with SLMs work, punctuality and professionalism. I did not shop prices for this.

Category: Roofing
Services Performed: Yes
Cost: $1300
Conroe, TX 77304
09/12/2016 Lynn B.
Never got past the initial phone call - he asked lots of questions about my insurance claim, whether
it was approved, how much it was approved for, etc. Then told me he didn't need to come out to look at
it because he used an app to estimate - I guess I am old school - how can you estimate work if you don't even access the work to be done? It all sounded very suspect to me so I did not engage them for the work.

Category: Roofing
Services Performed: No
Cost: $8000
Houston, TX 77007
08/29/2016 William L.

Category: Roofing
Services Performed: Yes
Conroe, TX 77384
08/20/2016 Maureen F.
He and his crew arrived on the day and time expected...his team worked hard with very little down
time..and they left the work area clean and neat. They were back the next day ready to work and it was
the same story!..when I came home that night I was surprised to find the gutter guards were not put on...found out my 5 inch gutter guards would not fit on my 6" gutters. It seemed my gutters were upgraded in error and the guards did not fit. Barrett said no problem he would order new 6" gutter guards...no more money..apologized for the mistake and the delay...within a week I had new gutter guards, new gutters, and the roof had been cleaned and spot repaired. They did a great job, I could not have asked for more. The company and their workers are great and I highly recommend them. Thank you all!

Category: Gutter Repair & Replacement, Roofing
Services Performed: Yes
Cost: $3750
Houston, TX 77069
08/14/2016 Steve W.
Barrett and his team did an incredible job, they were on time and the workmanship was impeccable.
After the job was complete they picked up ALL of the trash and nails and nothing was out of place. I
would recommend them to anyone that was looking to replace a roof, and would be happy to talk to anyone that would like to hear about our experience. This is a 5 STAR Company

Category: Roofing
Services Performed: Yes
Cypress, TX 77429
08/11/2016 Wayne S.
SLM Residential Roofing is top notch. Barrett Blow and his team are highly effective and do a great
job. As an out of town rental property owner, I needed someone to take care of a property roof, and be
able to trust them to do a good job. Barrett and his crew did a great job, on time and at a fair price. What more could you ask for? Highly recommended. I was sent photos of the job during and after. The renter comment that I had chosen a great company and they were highly please.

Category: Roofing
Services Performed: Yes
Cost: $6000
La Grange, TX 78945
08/04/2016 Christopher M.
Called on 07/18, and was told repairs are done on Thursdays, and that the 21st was booked, so it
would be the 28th. On the 27th, received a call from a lady (Andrea?) advising that due to recent rains
they were backed up, but she could confirm me for 08/04. On 08/04, after I called and left a voicemail to confirm the schedule, I received a call from Mr. Barrett Blow, who informed me that they have too much replacement roof work, and have cancelled all repair work for the next 2-3 months. This is completely unprofessional. If they can't communicate and pay attention to details when accepting and scheduling work, how good can the actual work performed be

Category: Roofing
Services Performed: No
Houston, TX 77007
08/03/2016 Beverly B.

Category: Roofing
Services Performed: Yes
Farmington, UT 84025
07/27/2016 Ken M.
Pretty good, I had a problem they took care of it more than fairly so I can't say anything bad about
them. They didn't get it right the first time they had to come back and do it twice to get it right. Just a
little more control over the sub contractors that he was doing the work for but he had no control over that.

Category: Gutter Repair & Replacement
Services Performed: Yes
Cost: $349
Atascocita, TX 77346
06/30/2016 Joe C.
All the work was performed in a professional manner. Everything went well. The 2 man crew knew
what they were doing. Mr. Barrett Blow stayed on the site until all work was completed and the area
cleaned up. He then did a walk through inspection. I got a quality roof repair job at a good price.

Category: Roofing
Services Performed: Yes
Cost: $800
Spring, TX 77386
06/24/2016 Dan B.
I had hail damage and needed a new roof. I researched all of the local companies in my area
reading reviews, etc. and chose 3 for bids that had exceptional records. I was most impressed by the
reviews from SLM Roofing, so I was happy when Barrett, the owner, responded promptly. As other reviewers noted, his wasn't the lowest bid, but it was the most detailed and professional. Barrett has the heart of a teacher, and he patiently walked me through all aspects of building a quality roof, even though I had done roofing in my teens. He told me what to watch for, and good questions to ask the other roofers. In the end, it was an easy choice to go with SLM, and they estimated they could start work in 3 weeks. They were ready a week early even with all of the rain we've had. His crews showed up early each day and worked until dark. They finished my large home with steep roofs in 2 days and the roof is beautiful. My attics and garages are also 10 degrees cooler at least with the improved ventilation. There were two big things that impressed me about Barrett. First, for each aspect of the roof, he offered a low, middle, and premium cost version. His low cost was very high quality and it went up from there. When we got to the end, I asked Barrett what he would do based on our budget and all of the options, and I really like where he helped us spend extra money to get higher quality, and where he suggested we save money in a few areas to stay on budget. He thought of all kinds of variables that I would never think of including types of trees in the yard, leaves falling, sun, etc. The second thing was even more impressive. As the roof was being completed late on the 2nd day, Barrett was walking around doing his own inspection and he noted that some of the ventilation was not according to his plan. I wouldn't have noticed had he not pointed it out. It was late, so Barrett came and apologized for the error, and said the crews needed to come out early the next day to make it right. He took responsibility for the error and didn't blame his people. 9 out of 10 contractors would have left this situation since it wasn't noticeable, and almost all of them would have blamed someone else. In the end, we have a beautiful roof that people keep stopping to look at on the road, and we have cooler temperatures inside. The work was exactly to the estimate for costs, and it was completed a week ahead of schedule. I couldn't be happier.

Category: Roofing
Services Performed: Yes
Cost: $18000
Magnolia, TX 77354
06/04/2016 Emile S.
Very prompt and professional service. Communicated well even during weather delays.

Category: Roofing
Services Performed: Yes
Cost: $475
Spring, TX 77379
05/20/2016 Blake C.
I highly recommend SLM Residential Roofing. They do great work! Very professional. Completed the
work on time and cleaned up everything. The price they quoted is exactly what I had to pay.

Category: Roofing
Services Performed: Yes
Cost: $15000
Unknown, TX 77073
05/05/2016 Sara Hoyle
Barrett was responsive, on time, polite , professional and knowledgeable. He explained what
needed to be done, and answered all my questions.

Category: Roofing
Services Performed: Yes
Cost: $1000
Spring, TX 77379
04/25/2016 Rita P.
The crew arrived early each day. They all wore company shirts so neighbors knew who belonged on the work site. They worked 3 straight days and did a fabulous job. Crew members were courteous. Barrett, the owner followed the estimate to a tee. He was professional and checked on the crew daily to insure quality work was being performed. There were no surprises. Only the wonderful new look of the roof. GAF really is a great product. The architectural shingles are nice.

Description of work:
Installed GAF Timberline HD Architectural shingle with StainGuard roof. Installed Bullet Boots on plumping pipe vents. Installed GAF Cobra 3 exhaust ridge vent to all ridges. Installed GAF Z ridge and hip cap shingles to all ridge caps and hips. Ventilation on the garage building was added. All roofing products were fastened using hand driven nails. All debris was removed from property and hauled away. Area was magnetically swept for residual nails and metals after roof install.

Overall: A
Price: A
Quality: A
Responsiveness: A
Punctuality: A
Professionalism: A
Category: Roofing
Services Performed: Yes
Cost: $20000
Work Completed Date: 02/15/2016
Hire Again: Yes
Rita P.
The Woodlands, TX 77382

04/12/2016 Allison P.

Overall: A
Price: N/A
Quality: N/A
Responsiveness: N/A
Punctuality: N/A
Professionalism: N/A
Category: Roofing
Services Performed: Yes
Cost: $99
Work Completed Date: 12/13/2014
Hire Again: Yes
Allison P.
Houston, TX 77014

04/11/2016 Phil M.
I have used Barrett's company on several occasions on two different houses. When I cam home after a trip and discovered rodent evidence in the house - rats droppings - I called a pest control company. The pest control company checked the house out (for the second time in about a year) and said they could not find any entry ways and suggested I set traps in the attic. I did this. Then went on another trip. Returned to find even more evidence though I could not find an obvious entry point. Therefore, I assumed it might be the new flashing work SLM had done less than a year earlier. Barrett and his crew came out, inspected the flashing and work they had done and found a likely entry point for rats that the pest guy could not see (he had not gotten on the roof like they did). Barrett then left and said no charge. However, he then came across another client who had had a similar experience and got a recommendation from that owner and passed it on to me. I called the recommended company and they came out to seal the house even better than before and put a 12 month guarantee on my house being rodent free.

Barrett did not charge me for the visit and he went even went out of his way to find a solution for me. That is excellent service.

Description of work:
Barrett and his team came back to check on a possible issue with previous roofing work only to discover that my problem had nothing to do with their work. However, they went the extra mile and discovered the source of my problem and then helped me find a better solution and they did this at no cost.

Overall: A
Price: A
Quality: A
Responsiveness: A
Punctuality: A
Professionalism: A
Category: Roofing
Services Performed: Yes
Cost: $0
Work Completed Date: 03/16/2016
Hire Again: Yes
Phil M.
The Woodlands, TX 77381

04/04/2016 Byron D.

This was one of the best experiences, and maybe the best, I've had in home repairs. Replacing a roof cannot be a fun way to spend your money, but it is a necessary expense in home ownership. Barrett Blow at SLM made it as pleasant as possible. This man clearly cares that his client is happy. His presentation was the best of four bidders I interviewed. He gave me an impressive array of brochures from G A F Roofing. His bid was completely detailed so I could see what was included and upgrades with additional costs. He explained exactly what was to be done. The other roofers basically bid it with nothing more than the total cost. He was not the lowest bid, but I liked his professionalism. That proved to be absolutely correct. His crew showed up on time and finished the job in a timely manner. He kept me informed daily. The roof is beautiful. He cleaned up the outside to perfection. The only damage wad to a bush and sprinkler head which they told me about when it happened and fixed it without delay. I was simply amazed at that level of caring. This is a large home (7000 sq. feet) with very steep roofs. I was told that this was the largest single family home they had done. I am completely happy. I've always believed in getting several bids, and this was no exception. But I hope I can save you some time in this process. I would recommend getting 3-4 bids. Then look closely at each presentation. Compare each part of roofing, from drip edge to ridge rows and see what is included. I went to the GAF website to see what the parts of a roof are to help me, since $34,000 is a lot of money. Among other things, I learned that GAF offers 3 lifetime warranties. I chose a better warranty at a nominal additional cost which required that your roofing company be a GAF Certified Roofer, which SLM is. After researching I concluded that SLM was the best. I was not wrong. You may find a cheaper roofer, but not a better one.

Description of work:
Replaced roof

Overall: A
Price: A
Quality: A
Responsiveness: A
Punctuality: A
Professionalism: A
Category: Roofing
Services Performed: Yes
Cost: $34000
Work Completed Date: 04/04/2016
Hire Again: Yes
Byron D.
Spring, TX 77380

03/30/2016 Gene S.

Overall:
A
Price: A
Quality: A
Responsiveness: A
Punctuality: A
Professionalism: A
Category: Roofing
Services Performed: Yes
Cost: $375
Work Completed Date: 03/29/2016
Hire Again: Yes
Gene S.
The Woodlands, TX 77383

03/16/2016

SLM Residential Roofing LLC did a fantastic job after my roof was damaged from a hail storm last year. Barrett walked me through everything and even helped liaison with the insurance adjuster. His professionalism was first class! I would highly recommend SLM for all your roofing and gutter needs!
03/02/2016 Linda K.

Barrett was very courteous and knowledgeable. He was on time to the appointment and took care of the problem very well and quickly. I would use his service again.

Description of work:
Repaired a hole in the roof caused by a tree rubbing.


Overall: A
Price: A
Quality: A
Responsiveness: A
Punctuality: A
Professionalism: A
Category: Roofing
Services Performed: Yes
Cost: $275
Work Completed Date: 02/25/2016
Hire Again: Yes
Linda K.
The Woodlands, TX 77384

03/01/2016 Katrina P

My dad and I cut down some tree limbs and discovered that they had rubbed through the shingles and the bare roof was exposed. I called two roofers from Angie's List and Barrett was the first to respond. He and his crew were on their way to another job near my home, but did not know how long it would take. He assured me that they would be able to come out the next day to fix the problem.

The job they were on their way to finished early, and Barrett called me to see if they could come assess the problem. His crew beat him to my house and they were up on the roof checking things out by the time he got there. They quickly assessed the problem, communicated their findings on the roof by texting images of what they saw, and completed the work in less than an hour.

Barrett communicated well with me, especially since I did not know much about roofing. They had some shingles on hand, and although they did not match my current shingles, I didn't mind because I was concerned about the elements causing more damage (also, only the airplanes overhead could see them, so it wasn't a big deal).

The team also did a quick inspection of my roof and pounded in any nails they saw that had come up and sealed some of the pipes coming out of the roof.
I was very happy with the quickness and professionalism displayed. I will use this roofer again.

Description of work:
Patched my roof where a tree had rubbed off the shingles and did a quick inspection for any other problems.


Overall: A
Price: B
Quality: A
Responsiveness: A
Punctuality: A
Professionalism: A
Category: Roofing
Services Performed: Yes
Cost: $375
Hire Again: Yes
Katrina P.
Spring, TX 77373
Go Back
Powered by Your Web Pro | Roofing and Contractor Websites
SLM Residential Roofing Images
Close [x]